MOB 47

Members Åke
Links News


MOB 47 is a hardcore punk band which formed in Stockholm, Sweden in 1982, originally under the name of “Censur”.In 1983 the band members changed the name to what it’s now called “Mob 47” when singer Mentis entered the band. During their early years they played with the legendary band Anti Cimex. They were influenced by bands such as DISCHARGE, CRUCIFIX, D.R.I., and B.G.K.. They have been described as the fastest of the Swedish D-beat groups.
Guitarist and founding member, Åke formed several other bands after and around the time of MOB 47. The bands Agoni, Röjers, Discard, Crudity, and Protes Bengt were featured with MOB 47 on the “Stockholm’s Mangel” compilation in 1985. Some with other members of MOB 47, mostly the drummer Chrille. Per, vocalist of contemporary Swedish outfit Bruce Banner, is noted for singing in a number of these bands. Åke has continued to play and released a new MOB 47 demo playing solo with a drum machine in 1998.

In 2003 Speedstate Records in Japan released a 2 CD official discography. In 2005 the band began to rehearse again. They did their first official gig in 20 years at Debaser, in Stockholm, the 25th of May 2006 and are currently working on some new material.

In September 2007, the band played their first shows outside Sweden, playing in London, Sheffield and Bradford England. In November 2007 Jugga decided to quit the band, and Mob 47 was once again a 3-piece band.